About Us

MACAC supports education professionals as they guide students and families in the postsecondary education planning process.  We advocate for policies and programs that benefit our members and those students and families whom we serve at local, regional and national levels.

Past MACAC Presidents

1959-1960 Dewey Brevik St. Olaf College
1960-1961 Charles Miller Macalester College
1961-1962 Rodney Schmidt Edina Morningside High School
1962-1963 Donovon Lundeen Augsburg College
1963-1964 James Rosasco Red Wing Central High School
1964-1965 Brother Anthony Saint Mary's College
1964-1965 Brother Paul Saint Mary's College
1965-1966 Francis Babcock Mound High School
1966-1967 Con McNamara College of St. Thomas
1967-1968 William Gramenz Macalester College
1968-1969 Derril Burger Minnetonka High School
1969-1970 Mark Johnson Augsburg College
1970-1971 Lloyd Gessner St. Mary's Hall
1971-1972 Robert Vikander University of Minnesota - Morris
1972-1973 Geraldine Thompson Hopkins Lindbergh High School
1973-1974 Owen Sammelson Gustavus Adolphus College
1974-1975 Carol Pomroy Minneapolis Edison High School
1975-1976 John Bell University of Minnesota
1976-1977 Paul Anderson Mounds View High School
1977-1978 Lorraine Jenson College of St. Catherine 
1978-1979 Cliff Caine St. Paul Academy & Summit School
1979-1980 John Ruohoniemi St. Olaf College
1980-1981 Merna Smith Minneapolis Non-Public Guidance
1981-1982 Floyd  Brown Moorhead State University
1982-1983 Jane Treon Northfield High School
1983-1984 Terry Blom University of Minnesota - TC
1984-1985 Ted Downs Edina High School
1985-1986 Dan  Murray Hamline University
1986-1987 Jeff Sheehan Convent of the Visitation School
1987-1988 Tony  Piscitiello Saint Mary's College
1988-1989 Merna Smith Minneapolis Non-Public Guidance
1988-1989 Jeff Sheehan Convent of the Visitation School
1989-1990 Lee  Johnson Concordia College - Moorhead
1990-1991 Phil Trout Shattuck-St. Mary's School
1991 Carol Stack Augsburg College
1991-1993 Paul Austinson John Marshall High School
1993-1994 Kristi Reinholtzen Gustavus Adolphus College
1994-1995 Kathleen McCartin Minnesota Center for Arts Education
1995-1996 Russ Kreager University of Minnesota - Duluth
1996-1997 Jim Mootz Winona State University
1997-1998 Pat Fitzgerald St. Paul Public Schools
1998-1999 Marla Friederichs University of St. Thomas
1999-2000 Mary Docken Mounds Park Academy
2000-2001 Dan  Davidson Central Lakes College - Brainerd
2001-2002 Frank Sachs The Blake School
2002-2003 Kris Getting  University of St. Thomas
2003-2004 Sally Daniels Augsburg College
2004-2005 Sara Kyle The Blake School
2005-2006 Ann Kjorstad Hamline University
2006-2007 Lynn Redmond Shattuck-St. Mary's School
2007-2008 Marlene Mohs St. Catherine University
2008-2009 Jill Apple St. Paul Academy & Summit School
2009-2010 Kerri Carlson Minneapolis Comm and Tech College 
2010-2011 Phil  Trout Minnetonka High School
2011-2012 Rachelle Hernandez University of Minnesota - Twin Cities
2012-2013 Chris Franken Eastview High School
2013-2014 Dan  Tomhave Bethany Lutheran College 
2014-2015 Craig  Dodson Mounds Park Academy
2015-2016 Norma Gutierrez Saint Thomas Academy
 2016-2017  Joe  Herrera University of Saint Thomas
 2017-2018  Chad  Terry

Rosemount High School

 2018-2019  Mike  Vandenberg  Concordia  College
 2019-2020  Sarah  Hogan

 Providence Academy

 2020-2021 Mai Nhia Xiong-Chan Hamline University
 2021-2022 Garth Robertson GR College Consulting

Vision Statement

Strengthen our reputation as the recognized provider of information for, and development of, education professionals as they guide students and families in the postsecondary education planning process.

Core Values

Advocacy | Collaboration Among Members | Equity & Access | Ethics & Integrity | Professional Development For All Members | Volunteerism & Service (Adopted by MACAC Board, April 2010)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software