MACAC Awards

MACAC annually recognizes the work and achievement of the MACAC Members. Nominations begin in March and awards are given during the annual spring conference.

Rising Star Award | Distinguished Service Award | President's Service Recognition Award | Mentor Award | Student Service Award

Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award was developed by NACAC to recognize the achievements of individuals who have been MACAC members for five years or less.  Candidates “must be people who are striving to make a difference within their association through their work on committees.” The recipient of this award is selected by the Member Relations committee via nominations received from MACAC members.  The MACAC Rising Star honoree may be nominated by MACAC to NACAC for the national Rising Star Award.

2021: Kaia Sherburne, Hamline University
2020: Wendy Mamer, Augustana University
2019: Ben Dufault, Augsburg University
2018: Katie Asfeld, Augsburg University
2017: Cassie Nelson, St. Catherine University
2016: Steve Baker, University of Minnesota
2016: Ryan Blake, University of St. Thomas
2015: Colleen Neary, Anoka High School
2014: Samantha Savoie, St. Catherine University
2013: Laura Favreau, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
2012: Flannery Clark, Macalester College
2011: Brian Weber, University of St. Thomas
2010: Jennifer McCormack, St. Catherine University
2009: Desiree Keenan, University of Minnesota Twin Cities 
2008: Bryan Karl, University of Minnesota Duluth
2007: Elyan Paz, College of Visual Arts
2007: Kristen Hatfield, University of St. Thomas
2007: Sabrina Thaldorf, Dunwoody College of Technology
2006: Brad Burnham, Hopkins High School
2006: Amy Desmond, Benilde-St. Margaret's School
2006: Jennifer Mayeron, Hamline University
2005: Norma Gutierrez, University of Minnesota - TC
2005: Ann Infante, Southwest High School
2005: Jennifer Swenson, Bemidji State University
2004: Debra Balzer-Plagemann, Brainerd High School
2004: Kerri Carlson, Inver Hills Community College
2004: Maureen Cisneros, University of Minnesota - TC 
2004: Jennifer Hays, University of St. Thomas
2003: Craig Dodson, University of St. Thomas
2003: Chris Franken, Eastview High School
2003: Mary Hill, St. Paul Academy and Summit School 
2003: Brenda Panger, College of St. Scholastica
2002: Jill Bisbee, Gustavus Adolphus College
2002: Denise Cochran, Rosemount High School|
2002: Sue Hoff, Baker-Hoff Educational Consultants
2002: Jim Johnson, NEI College of Technology

Distinguished Service Award

Candidates are veterans of MACAC--more than five years of service--who have contributed to the MACAC organization, its programs, and have made a difference in the lives of the students we serve. The recipient of this award is selected by the Member Relations committee via nominations received from MACAC members.

Mai Nhia Xiong-Chan, Hamline University
Norma Gutierrez, Saint Thomas Academy
2020: Amy Larson, Benilde-St.Margaret's School
2019: Aaron Salasek, Inver Hills Community College
2019: Margaret Wolfgram, National College Fair Committee
2018: Laura Horton, Holy Family Catholic High School
2017: Susan Hoff, Independent College Consultant
2016: Emily Mattran, Chanhassen High School
2015: Chad Terry, Rosemount High School
2014: Mike Vandenberg, University of Minnesota, Morris
2013: Ann Pabst, Convent of the Visitation
2012: Tina Proctor, Academy of Holy Angels
2011: Jeff Allen, Macalester College
2010: Elyan Paz, College of Visual Arts
2010: Lisa Burnham, Edina High School
2009: Jane Nordhorn, College of Saint Catherine
2009: Dan Tomhave, University of Minnesota Duluth
2008: Ann Kjorstad, Hamline University
2007: Mary Hill, St. Paul Academy and Summit School
2006: Leslie Zenk, University of Minnesota-Morris
2005: Kris Getting, University of St. Thomas
2004: D. Lynn Redmond, Shattuck-St. Mary's School
2004: Jeff Sheehan, Convent of Visitation School
2003: Jill Apple, St. Paul Academy and Summit School
2003: Dan Davidson, Central Lakes College
2002: Sally Daniels, Augsburg College
2002: Mary Docken, Mounds Park Academy
2002: Marlene Mohs, College of St. Catherine
2002: Joan O'Connell, Cretin-Derham Hall
2002: Phil Trout, Shattuck-St. Mary's School


This award is bestowed upon a MACAC member who has served as an official MACAC mentor and has provided outstanding leadership to a MACAC member through the mentorship program. 

2021: Tina Proctor, Academy of Holy Angels
2020: Jamie Menne, Orono High School
2019: Brian Burgemeister, Visitation School
2018: Jennifer Landy, Wayzata High School
2017: Mike Vandenberg, Concordia College
2017: Jeron Schmidt, Northland College
2016: Bill Cleveland, University of Minnesota

President’s Service Recognition Award

The MACAC President's Service Recognition Award is presented in recognition of significant contributions to the organization, recognizing leadership, committee work, and selfless devotion to MACAC, its programs, and members for over a decade.  The recipient of this award is determined by the current President of MACAC, rather than through nominations.

Ninette Carlson, Michigan Technological University
Jeff Polski, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities
Amy Harker, Iowa State University
Beth Kreusch, College Guide
Jeron Schmidt, OneGoal
Liz Hayes, MACAC Executive Assistant
2020: Joe Herrera, University of St. Thomas
2019: Dan Tomhave, Bethany Lutheran College
2018: Amanda Anderson, Benilde-St. Margaret's School
2017: Tina Proctor, Academy of Holy Angels
2016: Chris Franken, Eastview High School
2015: Joy Rockwell, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
2014: Kerri Carlson, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
2013: Ann Kjorstad, Academy of Holy Angels
2012: Mary Hill, St. Paul Academy and Summit School
2011: Marlene Mohs, St. Catherine University
2010: Joan O'Connell, Cretin-Derham Hall
2009: Dan Davidson, Central Lakes College
2008: Sara Kyle, The Blake School
2007: Kris Getting, University of St. Thomas
2006: Sally Daniels, Augsburg College
2005: Phil Trout, Shattuck St. Mary's School
2004: Frank Sachs, The Blake School
2003: Mary Docken, Mounds Park Academy
2002: Brian Peterson, Hamline University
2001: Tony Piscitiello, Saint Mary's University
2000: Merna Smith, Minneapolis Public Schools 


This award is bestowed upon a MACAC member who has been instrumental in making post-secondary education opportunities available to historically underrepresented students.

2021: Molly McAlister, St. Cloud State University
2020: Toni Marie O'Daniel, Hmong College Prep Academy
2019: Rhemi Abrams-Fuller, Carleton College
2018: Teresa Hichens-Olson, Great River School
2017: Danielle Jastrow, Minneapolis Southwest High School 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software